My Archive: Mount St. Helens 35th Anniversary

DSCF0306

My Archives: Mount St. Helens 35th Anniversary

Thirty-five years ago Mt. St. Helens erupted and sent ash clear across the state to my hometown of Spokane, WA. I was only 9 months old when she erupted. The people of Spokane didn’t think they would be impacted from the volcano’s wrath on the other side of the state. Each year I count my blessings that my dad kept a weeks worth of local and regional newspapers covering the event and aftermath. He also scooped up 2 large coffee cans worth of the ash from outside our home.

On Monday I shared information about the anniversary with my girls and here I share it with you. We carefully looked over the yellow 35 year-old newspapers which featured President Jimmy Carter and time-lapse photos of the volcano’s eruption. My girls examined the ash and we discussed its composition. I’ve since moved the ash into new containers because, after 35 years, the lids of the can had deteriorated just enough to let air and moisture in to cause some rust inside the cans. :/

IMG_20150518_200740_654

 

 

DSCF0307

 

 

 

DSCF0313

DSCF0317

DSCF0315

DSCF0314

DSCF0312

DSCF0311

DSCF0310

DSCF0309

DSCF0308

Leave a Reply

